top of page
  • Jayne Friscia

An Open Letter to Ballet Companies

Show your dancers.


Show your dancers in rehearsal. Show them in regular clothes. Show them in leotard ballets. Show them pregnant. Show them during layoff.


Show their bodies. Hire their bodies.


Hire their short bodies. Their muscular bodies. Their lanky bodies. Their mature bodies.


Sell me tickets to movement quality, not a beauty contest. I want to see all my life reflected on the stage. I want to see my passion reflected back at me. I want my little sister to see a healthy lifestyle. I want to see my friends of color. I want to know your dancer’s have full, rich lives.


Watching a livestream the other day, I thought to myself “her body makes me feel better about my body.” I thought about how lovely it is to have your insecurities represented and celebrated. How lovely it is to have a fleeting moment of surety, to be gifted with the idea that you can make it as you are.


Companies are composed of humans. Flawed, talented, striving humans. To limit exposure or to showcase only what is perceived to be perfect is not only dishonest, but boring. I want to see not only my body type represented on stage, but many others too.


Sincerely,


A Dancer

--

Here at On the Other Foot, we concern ourselves very seriously with supporting healthy body image within dancers.


No dancer ever feels perfect, so we wanted to take a moment to highlight 3 inspiring professional dancers who have been successful regardless of how others view their bodies.


Check out Jaime Lynn Witts of Ballet Austin Here:


Check out Sarah Pasch of Pacific Northwest Ballet Here:


Check out Lauren Fadeley Veyette Here:


And as always follow On the Other Foot on instagram @otherfoot.pod to stay up to date on our new series, Fan Friday, where we highlight a positive member of the dance community every week!


Thanks for reading!

(Pictured: PNB Company Dancers)

19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page